As of July 1st, all retailers will be required to collect and remit sales tax for items purchased by qualified nonresidents.

No more showing an out of state ID and not having to pay the sales tax on purchases. This will really affect stores selling bigger ticket items to travelers (jewelry, furniture, etc.).

Qualified Nonresident Locations:

Inside USA – Alaska, Colorado, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, Oregon

Outside USA – American Samoa, Alberta, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Yukon Territory

Now those travelers must keep their receipts and apply for a refund from Washington state directly. They will only be able to get a refund on 6.5% of the tax paid, the local sales tax portion is not refundable.

See the attached notice from the Department of Revenue ~ we don’t want you paying out of pocket on sales tax not collected.